Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

Archive for July 22nd, 2006

Anti-war demo in Tel-Aviv

with 2 comments

A week ago they were 100. A few days ago 500. Tonight 2,500 Jews and Arabs marched together in Tel-Aviv, calling to end the suffering in “Gaza, Beirut and Haifa”.

read more | digg story

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 10:26 pm

Posted in Israel, Lebanon, peace, war

Live coverage on Wikimapia

with 37 comments

Update, Nov 22nd: please stop leaving wikimapia requests here. I have no affiliation with Wikimapia, I just blogged about them.

Israeli soldiers are engaged in battle in Maroun A-Ras. I heard the reports on Galei Zahal, then switched to Wikimapia to get my bearings.
As a demonstration of the difference between this war and ’82, and evidence that Israel has no intentions to occupy Lebanon, the reporters told of another village (sorry, didn’t catch the name), where the IDF ground forces toured yesterday – fought, captures munitions, and returned home. Of course, this is the IDF radio. I wonder what is the perspective of El-Manar on recent developments.

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 4:22 pm

Posted in Israel, Lebanon, so-so, Web 2.0

Nipicking

with 4 comments

There’s this picture of Israeli girls inscribing artillery shells doing the rounds (no, I’m not going to provide a link).

Dedicating instruments of carnage is bad taste. It has a marginal romantic appeal when done by allied forces in WW II movies, it is very disturbing when you see young girls decorating bombs. Very disturbing. Kids should be no where near this things.

But just to put the record straight, the text says: “To Nasralla”, not “To Lebanon”. The kids are wishing havoc to the man who bombed their houses. Sad, but not sick.

Oh, and by the way, if you do publish images – add a caption with time and location. Mutilated children are a horrid sight to see on any day, and obviously Israel is not hailing rice and flowers on Lebanon, but somehow I don’t get a sense of credability from some of the sites I see.

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 3:05 pm

Posted in Israel, Lebanon, war

Observation

with 4 comments

Lebanese blogs are full of Israeli comments (see examples below).

Israeli blogs are full of American comments.

Any insights welcome.

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 1:46 pm

Posted in blogging, Israel, Lebanon, peace, war

Can I?

with one comment

Can I ‘wear’ this banner on my site?
I am not Muslim. If I say I am Arab, no-one will take me seriously. But I definitely oppose any savage acts against innocent civilians, whether they are committed by terrorist organizations, resistance movements or national armies.Well, I guess not. But I can salute you, Mustapha. I wish you that you will soon see an end to the savage acts – from all parties – done in your country, and I wish you a day when you do not have to tell anyone that you oppose terror.

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 3:32 am

More Lebanese blogs, more Israeli comments

with 6 comments

Code Vault asks some hard questions:

The Lebanese front was unjustly started and Lebanon is being used by Syria and Iran for their own agendas. How come the Golan heights are still occupied with a Syrian law that anybody resisting there will be executed while Hizbollah says that it is fighting for the Arab cause from within Lebanon?

If we really were fighting to free Jerusalem and give the Palestinians their land back, how come the armed Palestinian factions did not join the fight with Hizbollah. We have been trying to disarm these groups for a long time as they represent a real threat to our sovereignty and security.

My feelings about all of this? We are going to pay for a fight that we did not want and cannot handle that is being imposed on us by a side that gets manipulated by others. Clear enough?

Yet explains that as long as the fighting continues, no Lebanese will speak against Hezbollah. I can understand that, but would hope otherwise. And so do many Israeli commenters on his blog.

Yes, sometimes it is a crazy world and we live in an almost a surrealistic reality. I am an israeli woman. leaving in north of Israel. Just wand to say that i can feel and see your suffering. I don’t have any suggestion to give. I don’t even want to spread here the history of the Israeli nation or to talk about politics or justifications. We have to cope with and to face- from both sides – a very hard and complex reality that is not totaly in our control. There are so many questions and so few answers right now. I sometimes feel that there are forces that are so strong, fanatic and total in ther belifes, that they are totaly blind to human suffering all togather. I just want to offer you my human sympathy. I do not belive in hatred. I strongly belive that people can live without violence. I educete my own children according those belifes .I teach tham love and sympathy for all humankind. unfortunately , the reality dose not match this personal philosophy. I hope for you and for me and my children that this sad and ceotic situation will and as soon as possible .

Take care and God bless you.

Sarit

North of Israel

I’ve been reading many Lebanese blogs. Much more than is good for my work, but then – I already admited I can’t really get any work done. I read them because I am want to know what is going on in Lebanon, what people are feeling, and frankly – I don’t trust the media.

And everywhere I go there are Israeli comments. Arguing, explaining, sympathising, provoking, apologizing. Now, I know we’re a vocal nation, but still – why are Israelis – some of them in shelters – so keen on reading and answering Lebanese bloggers?

And more then that, I wonder – what does a Lebanese feel when he sees 20 Israeli comments on his blog?

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 3:13 am