Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

More Lebanese blogs, more Israeli comments

with 6 comments

Code Vault asks some hard questions:

The Lebanese front was unjustly started and Lebanon is being used by Syria and Iran for their own agendas. How come the Golan heights are still occupied with a Syrian law that anybody resisting there will be executed while Hizbollah says that it is fighting for the Arab cause from within Lebanon?

If we really were fighting to free Jerusalem and give the Palestinians their land back, how come the armed Palestinian factions did not join the fight with Hizbollah. We have been trying to disarm these groups for a long time as they represent a real threat to our sovereignty and security.

My feelings about all of this? We are going to pay for a fight that we did not want and cannot handle that is being imposed on us by a side that gets manipulated by others. Clear enough?

Yet explains that as long as the fighting continues, no Lebanese will speak against Hezbollah. I can understand that, but would hope otherwise. And so do many Israeli commenters on his blog.

Yes, sometimes it is a crazy world and we live in an almost a surrealistic reality. I am an israeli woman. leaving in north of Israel. Just wand to say that i can feel and see your suffering. I don’t have any suggestion to give. I don’t even want to spread here the history of the Israeli nation or to talk about politics or justifications. We have to cope with and to face- from both sides – a very hard and complex reality that is not totaly in our control. There are so many questions and so few answers right now. I sometimes feel that there are forces that are so strong, fanatic and total in ther belifes, that they are totaly blind to human suffering all togather. I just want to offer you my human sympathy. I do not belive in hatred. I strongly belive that people can live without violence. I educete my own children according those belifes .I teach tham love and sympathy for all humankind. unfortunately , the reality dose not match this personal philosophy. I hope for you and for me and my children that this sad and ceotic situation will and as soon as possible .

Take care and God bless you.

Sarit

North of Israel

I’ve been reading many Lebanese blogs. Much more than is good for my work, but then – I already admited I can’t really get any work done. I read them because I am want to know what is going on in Lebanon, what people are feeling, and frankly – I don’t trust the media.

And everywhere I go there are Israeli comments. Arguing, explaining, sympathising, provoking, apologizing. Now, I know we’re a vocal nation, but still – why are Israelis – some of them in shelters – so keen on reading and answering Lebanese bloggers?

And more then that, I wonder – what does a Lebanese feel when he sees 20 Israeli comments on his blog?

Written by yishaym

July 22, 2006 at 3:13 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello,

    Thank you for inviting me to write a comment on your blog.
    You asked me to write on why we, Lebanese, see the conflict, and the israeli people in general.

    Well, first of all, I only speak for myself.
    I’ll be very brief in describing my point of view.

    I am first of all very deeply saddened by all the civilian deaths on both sides. Nothing is worth on child’s life.

    As for the reasons of the conflict, I am no fan on Hizbullah (HA). As nasrallah so nicely put it the other day, they “are fighting the war of the islamic nation, whether the lebanese want it or not”. NOTIN MY NAME. don’t get me wrong, it’s not just because I’m christian, believe me, many muslim lebanese think the same thing. I hope you’ll get some posts of muslim lebanese.
    HA, with the help of israel, is destroying my country, for as cause with which I don’t identify myself.
    I wonder who the traitor really is..

    Anyway, my point of view is explained in detail on my blog http://jeansouc.blogspot.com/ .

    Furthermore, I invite ALL the israelis, from ALL factions of the society, to go post their comments on how they see the lebanese, on my blog, like many others of their counterparts already did. It’s here:

    http://jeansouc.blogspot.com/2006/07/how-lebanese-are-seen-by-israelis.html

    Thank you yishaym, for giving the opportunity for the lebanese to express their thoughts on an israeli blog.

    Jean

    Jean

    July 22, 2006 at 11:33 am

  2. Thanks Jean,

    By the way – do you read other Israeli blogs?

    For example, have you seen this one:
    http://israelibunker.blogspot.com/

    yishaym

    July 22, 2006 at 1:26 pm

  3. […] Lebanese blogs are full of Israeli comments (see examples below). […]

  4. I don’t read many israeli blogs, I don’t know many addresses.
    Thank you for the tip, will go pay this blog a visit.

    Jean

    Jean

    July 23, 2006 at 12:31 pm

  5. Hey there,

    “I don’t trust the media.”

    You’re right not to🙂 I don’t either (to a certain extent) that’s why I try to get info from blogs and as many media sources as possible (they’re all biased, but by getting as many different opinions on news as possible you kinda make your own opinion and get the news as they come:))

    “what does a Lebanese feel when he sees 20 Israeli comments on his blog?”

    There are always two sides to a story, so it’s always interesting to have a take of the other side of the story. I am a strong believer in dialogue, so I am always keen to have an Israeli take on my posts. I don’t mind if they are critical, that’s the whole point, so long as they are civilized; and I have been lucky enough to have civilized contributors. (haven’t had the 20 Israelis commentators though :)) but some;))

    Free Cedar

    July 26, 2006 at 5:21 am

  6. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Idetrorce

    December 16, 2007 at 7:53 am


Leave a Reply

