Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

may day 2007

with 2 comments

When I was a kid we used to put on our blue shirts and shake the dust out of the red flags. We’d take the bus to Tel-Aviv, and join the parade. I hardly ever went to Tel-Aviv, so for me it was a city in red, with the Arab-Jewish communist youth taking the lead. Then we’d go and have ice coffee at Gil’s granddad’s hotel, though we did feel guilty for enjoying a capitalist treat. After that, we would take the shirts off and dip in the sea before taking the bus back to Jerusalem.

Yesterday Aviv emailed: hey, its mayday. let’s go visit Karl Marx’s tomb in Highgate. But I had to pick up the kids from school. As the postcard on Judith’s fridge says: I wanted to start a revolution, but I couldn’t find a babysitter.

Arise, ye workers from your slumber,
Arise, ye prisoners of want.
For reason in revolt now thunders,
and at last ends the age of cant!
Away with all your superstitions,
Servile masses, arise, arise!
We’ll change henceforth the old tradition,
And spurn the dust to win the prize!
So comrades, come rally,
And the last fight let us face.
The Internationale,
Unites the human race.
So comrades, come rally,
And the last fight let us face.
The Internationale,
Unites the human race.

Credits

Buck Pago
KarlMarx
الحجم
LiorMania
Teacher Dude’s BBQ
Nancy Broden

Written by yishaym

May 1, 2007 at 10:02 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. it seem your using my photos without sending me any notice.

    Buck Pago

    May 8, 2007 at 10:50 am

  2. My sincere apologies. you’re absolutely right.

    I’ve added some credits, please let me know if you would like me to remove your photos, or add anything to the text.

    best regards,

    – Yishay
    p.s.
    great work! would love to know more about these shots.

    yishaym

    May 8, 2007 at 11:27 am


Leave a Reply

