Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

Archive for June 27th, 2007

“Sometimes it’s uncomfortable to support Israel and pursue peace, democracy and human rights at the same time.”

leave a comment »

Rabbi Tony Bayfield comments on OneVoice, The Abraham Fund Initiatives, and others. Join the discussion!

I am a moderate when it comes to Israel but not, I hope, vacuous. It is an uncomfortable position with traffic coming at me from both sides. I am a Zionist and define Zionism as a non-negotiable commitment to the right of the state of Israel to exist and an equal commitment to the pursuit of peace as the highest value, to democracy and human rights. That exposes me to the rage of Israel’s critics on the one side and to the Jewish “realists” and cynics on the other.

(digg story)

Written by yishaym

June 27, 2007 at 11:11 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.