Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

Why I hate Apple

with 4 comments

Apple / Job’s most brilliant move was to position Macs as a radical, alternative, anti-corporate brand. The best illustration for this is blog posts like this one, and some of the comments, doing their marketing for them (I’m assuming no-one’s paid here).

Why?

I mean, lets be honest. MAC vs. PC is like McDonald’s vs. Burger King, Starbucks vs. Dunkin Doughnuts.

Take their adds.

White, young, anglo-saxon, well-off, educated Mr. PC and …?

Whiter, sexier, cooler, young anglo-saxon, well-off (better off?) educated Mr. Mac.

And they’re right. Neither company gives a hoot about development, education, inclusion, sustainability or human rights. So why should I feed them? Why should I support either? Sure, I use their products. I pay for them, or use what my office provides. Just as I might drive a car or eat a sandwich. But to assign value? Emotion? give me a break.

Intel joins OLPC. Now, that IS news. Vist? Jaguar? Who cares. Let’s be honest. XP is good enough, and the only reason we’ll be switching is because our vendors will force us, or the marketing machine will make us think we want it.

Bill says Tommaito, Steve says Tommaato, but frankly there’s only one significant difference between today’s versions of Mac, Windows and Linux: the economic model. With Linux you buy the software (or get it for free) and you own it. With the other two – it owns you.

Excuse my bout of Marxism light, but when the means of production are owned by the capitalist and leased to the workers for a fixed rent or a portion of their product – its not free market. Its feudalism. In the 21st century, software is the means of production. And if you think a carpenter has the right to own his hammer, a farmer has the right to own his hoe, then you should care about your right, and your kids right, to own their software.

Oh, and by the way: I think the Mac interface stinks. I think its unintuitive, difficult to learn and annoying. Yes, Windows is worse, like eating sawdust is worse than eating sand. You see, its just my opinion, my personal taste, and it means zilch. Just like any other silly review of blue vs. silverlined buttons.

Written by yishaym

July 17, 2007 at 2:36 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yishay, I’m totally loving this post! I’ve been feeling rather trouble by Apple (or more by people’s uncritical adoration of Apple) and this helps me with my thinking🙂

    ceej75

    July 19, 2007 at 11:55 am

  2. my pleasure. any time…
    thanks for the thumbs up.

    yishaym

    July 19, 2007 at 4:54 pm

  3. You’ll like this: http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/story/0,,2006031,00.html

    (and I use a mac;-))

    Niall

    July 28, 2007 at 2:54 pm

  4. Oh dear, I think I wet myself.

    yishaym

    July 28, 2007 at 3:32 pm


Leave a Reply

