Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

Mea culpa

with one comment

In one of my fiery rants some time ago, I referred to Victor Lebow as the evil designer of the absurd linear model which dominates western economies. I linked to Steve’s article, from which the following image is borrowed:

But alas, I did not read his argument with care. I had made my aquaitance with Mr Lebow at Annie Leonard’s excelent the story of stuff. I had used Steve’s article to confirm the quote, without reading his analysis, and the colourful albeit longish) story of how he hunted down the original. Scroll down to the bottom of his post and you can read it yourself. If you do, you will also agree with Steve that Lebow was describing a flawed system, not prescribing a stratagy. There’s lots of powerful stuff there, like:

the measure of social status, of social acceptance, of prestige, is now to be found in our patterns of consumption. The very meaning and significance of our lives is today expressed in consupmtion terms.

This is Lebow, in 1955. What would he be saying today?

My appologies, and thanks Steve. I stand corrected.

Written by yishaym

June 21, 2008 at 2:47 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I appreciate the mea culpa and the explanation. You are right, it is a long post, but it does let any others on the trail of Victor Lebow know where I’ve already looked. And in my defense, there is a summary at the top so you can go directly to what you want. Anyway, thanks for this post. It already sent someone to the original.

    Steve

    June 22, 2008 at 11:11 am


Leave a Reply

