Yaba Yaba

what? another blog? you must be joking.

Hey Google – where are my flappin’ videos?

leave a comment »

is this google’s idea of a graceful exit?

Google recently sent the users of video.google.com service a notice saying that it was discontinuing this service, and urging them to migrate their videos to YouTube.

forget one-click migration to YouTube, my videos have disappeared altogether, and there’s no one to talk to.

I had a couple of dozen of videos on google video. when I logged in to download and move them, they simply weren’t there. oh well, I thought, momentary glitch. but no – they haven’t re-appeared. support? google have closed down all the google video forums, so you can’t post any issue.   Strangly enough, even the service termination notice doesn’t appear on  video.google.com or any of google’s official blogs. For lack of alternatives, I posted an issue on the YouTube support forum. I haven’t received any response.

Ok, google has the right to shut down a free service it has been providing for years. A bit of a longer notice period would be nice, some migration tools would ease the pain. But that’s up to them. However, this goes way beyond reasonable behaviour. Can I please have my videos back?

Written by yishaym

May 8, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Leave a Reply

